advertisement

Power Cables. Are they overhyped? Part II: Electric Boogaloo

Status
Not open for further replies.
*Wrong* - The main discussion point is that mains cables have a discernible effect in some environments / conditions for experienced listeners.

Suggestions for possible causes include RFI, vibration, earthing etc etc. That is all - just suggestions.

Acknowledged. The point I picked up on was Alan Sircoms, and Jim pointed to articles to try and examine this.

I do think it's worth focussing on just one cause at a time, and trying to isolate just that factor. Otherwise we are in the realms of too many variables; too many test environments; and the problem would persist.

As weird as it sounds, I'm not that bothered on the outcome. I'm a process and test engineer at heart, so it's method and conditions of test which interest me.

Acknowledged. The point I picked up on was Alan Sircoms, and Jim pointed to articles to try and examine this.

I do think it's worth focussing on just one cause at a time, and trying to isolate just that factor. Otherwise we are in the realms of too many variables; too many test environments; and the problem would persist.

As weird as it sounds, I'm not that bothered on the outcome. I'm a process and test engineer at heart, so it's method and conditions of test which interest me.

Agreed - trying to isolate the various potential contributions would be a sensible approach.

However there is a small cabal on this thread (the Church of Double Blind ABX testers) that are not interested in understanding the root causes.

Agreed - trying to isolate the various potential contributions would be a sensible approach.

However there is a small cabal on this thread (the Church of Double Blind ABX testers) that are not interested in understanding the root causes.

That's because you have yet to prove that there is something for there to be a root cause of. Until that happens, any discussion of causes is moot.