advertisement

System pics 2024

Missed this, John, and thanks. Very interesting comment on your M-Ls which I've never come across before. Could have sth to do with the 30 degree dispersion angle? You mention Coventry but Quad are in Huntingdon (where my 2905s are, currently; breath-taking bill for re-panelling !!!!!)

Heard (much smaller) M-Ls once, briefly, 12+ years ago and was quite impressed. Otherwise I've no experience but have been tempted. Up to now, at least !!!! :)
Me too when I first heard smaller MLs and Gyrodec over 20 years ago. I have wondered whether they are revealing rather than harsh, I didn’t think they were when I used my Aerius i for a while. I’ll take them and the unopened spare panels down from the loft this year and see how I feel having not heard them for 2 or 3 years now. They went into storage when life changed and the cat came as part of the package and I didn’t want it using the panels as climbing frames.

53635125288_14338f0fff_b.jpg

For the first time in years there has been a fairly substantive change. A Chord DSX1000 DAC/network streamer has arrived. Basically a Chord QBD76 with a DLNA/UPNP front end as well as a standard digital coax in for the Apollo-R as transport. I’m still sorting the network out as at present it is just hanging off the ethernet port of an Airport Express (I’ll run a proper cat 5 cable from the router in the back room, I have a suitably long cable on order) and I’ve taken out a Qobuz subscription. I’m very impressed so far. This will be a great music discovery tool. As a DAC it does edge-out the PDM3, though not by much (the PDM3 is seriously good IMO). At this level all DACs sound really good to my mind, i.e. once one is well above the point compromises were made in the analogue circuitry etc.

PS I do have the crazy big wide legs with it, but I very carefully took them off so it would actually fit on my table!