advertisement

New LP12s - Bundle Bargains?

dalryc

pfm Member
I'm interested in buying a new LP12.
Demo booked for this week.

I'm new to LP12s and may want something between the Majik and Akurate specification.
For example, I've a low mileage Ortofon Cadenza that would negate the need for the Krystal cartridge and cost of £1400 RRP.

Are the three levels - Majik, Akurate, Klimax - just bundled options without discounts?

Dealer I had a chat to said Akurate is the sweet spot but he doesn’t rate the arm, tends to recommend 2nd hand ekos or ittock. I would start with Majik & see if you like it, the sound signature will either work for you or not. Plenty of options second hand & even more opinions.

Have a listen to something like a Rega P8 or 10 if you can. Didn’t do it for me but ymmv.

For background info, I bought and Orbe in preference to a Rega P8 and recently got an old LP12 in basic spec.
The LP12 blows the Orbe away (in my opinion).

I've a low mileage Ortofon Cadenza

There are so many options out there that it's hard to know where to begin! (Choice is a good thing, of course.)

Given that you already have the Ortofon and presumably enjoy it, perhaps the PFM collective could suggest an arm that will get the most out of the cartridge you have while still fitting an LP12?

Alternatively, I've had an LP12 with a Naim ARO, Armageddon, ARO Kore, and a Dynavector 20x2L and it was great. (Since moved up to a Radikal.) Should be possible for Akurate money and with a good dealer. EDIT: unless you have a lot of 45s, then it's a non-starter, as the 'Geddon only does 33.3 rpm.

For a middle ground best value, perhaps something like: Lingo4, Roksan Nima arm, Kore (Rega fit to take the Nima) and reuse your cart. Don't worry too much about the arm and cart. The motor and PS makes much more difference on an LP12. Not sure if new LP12's come with a lid, if not get one of those - best upgrade ever!