advertisement

84 Linn LP12 Suspension

rstloup

pfm Member
Hi everyone,

I recently added an LP12 to my system. I drove it home about six hours since I picked it up when visiting my brother. It got a full overhaul (Valhalla recap, new tonearm wire, ittok installed, new springs, etc) like four years ago from Shelley’s Stereo in LA, but I’m a bit on the fence about the suspension and the travel/transport it’s had (even though I took the precautions I found through various threads.) From some of the videos I’ve watched, of later models albeit, it should be bouncing for longer? See the video below.

https://streamable.com/xz0rvc

There’s a Linn dealer not too far from me in Saratoga, but they’re usually pretty swamped and hard to get a hold of for these tasks since it seems like it’s one electrical engineer running most of the repair work. Do you have any thoughts? How does it compare to yours? This is my first time handling an LP12 in person.

First off
Don't check for bounce with a record playing!

You need to tap or in the right area as well...or the suspension will not go up and down evenly

As an rule...I would ALWAYS reset the suspension after any movement of any significant distance...it's easy to do yourself and makes such a difference to the sound of the deck

So many people are afraid to touch their LP 12 ..for NO reason....there's nothing really inside! It's just a wooden frame with a metal lid and a crude bouncing subframe.... nothing to be scared of at all

Also...if the deck was new to me...I would take it apart and check that the spring posts were not bent.and hang down exactly square....as you will never get a decent bounce with bent bolts ( and so many are ) that Linn even make a special tool to check and straighten them

One last thing
Remember that the arm cable becomes part of the suspension on the LP 12 ...and it's important to get it's route and fixing length right for the deck to work correctly

First off