advertisement

Tragedy - Mark Levinson hanging about a charity shop!

I have no knowledge to current Mark Levinson kit.
The original stuff by ML himself and John Curl was pretty impressive one could dream of.
Completely out of reach finansially back then.

No the ‘caravan lead’ is just to draw more power (think it’s 20 or 30 amp). Quite a few of the big American power houses use them, I had a Boulder power amp that had one....

No the ‘caravan lead’ is just to draw more power (think it’s 20 or 30 amp). Quite a few of the big American power houses use them, I had a Boulder power amp that had one....
They’re called commando plugs and come in various voltage and current varieties including a three phase version (red), 110v are yellow and 220-250v are blue, the one fitted to this amp, will more than likely be a 16 amp variety.

They should never be necessary on any domestic kit, my main PA rig uses them but that has the power to upset people in the next village... literally.

Thanks Linn
Can’t remember exact figures but my Boulder has the potential to draw (I think) 3000W for dynamic swings...apparently that was the reason for the bigger power inlet.....

Edit; They might’ve had 2 3000w transformers too...a long time ago and I have no idea what transformers do :p

There’s no fuse in these blue plugs to limit current either and it’s probably a 20A connector on the amp but tbh that’s probably more to do with US 110V supply where current is doubled for the same power level as UK.

I imagine it’s the initial transformer magnetising current at switch-on which is the issue more so than the dynamic peaks.

According to Stereophile there’s 2 x 800VA transformers in the power amp which *should* be OK with a 13A fuse at 240V. Will probably dim the lights for a moment though! Maybe there’s a staged switch-on, one channel at a time.

Very interested to hear your thoughts on these with Tannoys if you end up buying them Frank.

Good shout from the OP for the heads-up!