advertisement

Alternative phono stage for Rega P8 with Ania Pro MC (not Aria Mk3 or Graham Slee Reflex C)

Peter McDermott

pfm Member
Hi Everyone,

I 've recently bought a Rega P8 that replaces my P6. it's my first time with moving coil cartridges.

As part of the deal I bought the Aria Mk3 phono stage.

The turntable is fantastic but I'm not sure about the Rega phono stage. Main reasons being that it's a bit noisy in my system. There is quite a lot of white noise/hiss from the speakers when its in use, and a slight hum within the unit itself.

My first step was to try the Graham Slee Reflex C via their loner scheme. This is much quieter (no noise from the unit itself and far less white noise/hiss too) than the Rega. On the downside it may not be quite as alive in its presentation as the Rega.

So, I was wondering if anyone had experience of using other phono stages with the P8/Ania Pro.

My budget would be about £1,100 (current price of the Aria Mk3). I don't need MC and MM capability, MC only is fine.

I was expecting some noise but not quite as much as I get with the Rega. I have put in on the lower gain setting.

Help much appreciated.

Did you not want to try the Accession MC? It is only slightly above your budget, but with a few more posts on their forum, you can get a 10% discount.

Did you not want to try the Accession MC? It is only slightly above your budget, but with a few more posts on their forum, you can get a 10% discount.
Hi @CageyH thanks for that. I am thinking of trying that next via the loaner scheme if it's available. I'm going to keep the Reflex C for another week or so.

The Aria should be on high gain for the Ania Pro and you shouldn't be getting any noise. You're always going to get a bit more low level background hiss with a low output moving coil cartridge but it certainly shouldn't be noticeable or at all intrusive. I have the Pro with the Aria and it's very quiet.