advertisement

Raspberry Pi Advice

I’m currently using Spotify on my Skybox for streaming. It’s not bad but I’d like to try Quboz for better quality.

I’m not technically gifted but I think I’ve got my head around the Raspberry Pi, I’ll be running it via USB to a Topping D10 and then to the DAC in my Rotel RA1570.

The only fly in the ointment is that I can’t run the Pi hard wired to the router, that’s in a different room and it tortuous to get a cable from it.

Does anyone have the same problem or know a solution?

The alternative is to run a laptop instead but I’d need to set it up and put it away every time I wanted to use it, I’d soon revert back to Spotify, I think.

Cheers BB

It extends the Ethernet reach through your electrical circuit. Plug next to the router then plug next to your hifi. They work very well.Often known as powerplugs.

Can you run the Pi via WiFi?

Cheers BB
Yeah most versions have WiFi and Bluetooth included. If your router gives a decent signal into the hifi room should work fine, worth a try anyway, if it’s weak or a long way away you’d be as well going with Del suggestion of mains power line wifi adapters.

I will say if you listen to analogue radio avoid the powerline adapters, they put so much RF into your mains (because that's how they work) they can interfere with radio, especially shortwave for a good distance from your home, there's someone near me with them and I can tell if they are using the internet by the interference I get, dam things should be banned.

Been using them for fifteen years now for both audio and video. Never had a moment's trouble.

Talk to any ham radio operator about them, how they pass EMC testing is beyond me, no need for them now with mesh networks and the like.

You can literally see the network activity, it's the RF equivalent of opening your windows and playing loud music.

20220404103959-cf782628-me.jpg