advertisement

Naim NAIT 5 vs. NAIT 5i-2

kaczmar2

Hey there,

New to the community and my first post.

I will shortly be purchasing my first Naim Audio rig. It will consist of a CD5i paired with a NAIT 5 or NAIT 5i (latest version.) Loudspeakers will be Epos M12.2. I've a couple of questions regarding the NAIT 5...

The person selling me the gear (someone who deals in Naim equipment) recommends the older NAIT 5 over the NAIT 5i due to the fact that the NAIT 5i is not expandable and uses a "passive preamplifier".(I'm not an expert in the power electronics behind stereo equipment.)

First question: Does that fact that the 5i have a passive preamp vs. the 5's active preamp make a difference in sound quality? If so, what are the pro's and cons? I guess what I am asking is: for those who are expert Naim listeners, whould you prefer the NAIT 5 over the NAIT 5i.

Second question: is the NAIT 5's expandability a valid concern? Would I significantly benefit from slowly upgrading the NAIT 5 with a power amp and power supply, or it is better and more cost-effective to chuck the 5i when the time comes to get separates? (I am also not an expert in Naim's recommended upgrades.)

Thanks for any input and clarity you can add.

What about listening to both and buying the one that sounds best? Expandability is not an item if you ask me. Hi-Caps and the like are a waste of space, expensive and power consuming. But I guess I'm in a minority here...

I had a Nait 5i with Epos 12.2s. I felt that the speakers required a bit of kick to get them going so I would say the 50w of the 5i would be the minimum and couldn't see the 30w of the 5 working well