advertisement

Mike & Dave's Hi-Fi Riff YouTube Channel.

I happen to know where there are two working models, not sure whether all the lettering though is still in place though.

Drill holes in the side a put a fan in to move some air around was one way to make them last a little longer.

This man knows a thing or two about them: https://www.markhennessy.co.uk/mf_a1/

Just watching it now. The A1 looks much nicer than I remember. I had one for a short while when they were all the rage. It got stolen before it broke, so I have no bad experiences with it, though I was a little underwhelmed by it. I replaced my 33/303 with it as all the magazines were telling me that was crap. Which it wasn’t at all. Rest of the system at that time was an RD80, AT1120 arm with damper, Ortofon M25FL cart and Tannoy M20 Golds. I then went off into the flat-earth thing…

Some surprising errors in the video though, e.g. the A1 isn’t actually a pure class A amp, and even if it was it most certainly wasn’t the first affordable transistor one (Sugden A21 in the late ‘60s likely takes that). Obviously tons of class A valve kit before that too.

PS Folk in Liverpool really are good at stealing stuff. It got taken via the skylight of my third-story flat!

I had an A1 for a while, quite enjoyed it from memory though I sold it while it was working:D. I also had a B..., can’t remember which one but I do remember the volume or function knob rubbing plastic to plastic I guess when rotating them. One of the knobs and its shaft (plastic) fell out as well though that was an easy fix just spreading where it joined the pot.
My mate at the time was repairing fairly large numbers of these but once repaired and copious amounts of new heat sink compound applied had very few issues. Certainly the owners appeared very happy with them when they actually worked.

David Price has aways spoke highly of this amp. It is still regarded as a bit of a classic. Seems to break down a lot though.