advertisement

Chord MScaler - not that impressed

Crazeenick

pfm Member
Has anybody had a Chord MScaler and then sold it because they were not that impressed?

I have an MScaler and a DAVE. After a few months of listening:

a) the impact of the Mscaler is much more subtle than I had expected it to be
b) I am not convinced the SQ with the Mscaler is superior to the DAVE alone

I am seriously considering selling the MScaler and using the funds to upgrade my speakers!

Maybe it is just my cloth ears?!

Has anyone else got rid of their MScaler or considered doing so? There does seem to be a steady flow (albeit in small numbers) of second hand Mscalers up for sale.....

I started with a DAVE, and very good it is too. I was curious, and pretty sceptical, about the MScaler, so borrowed one on extended loan from my dealer. From the off, I was impressed by what it did to the sound quality. I did try removing it for a while, but then I really missed it. I guess, like all other bits of hi-fi kit, it very much depends on the rest of your system, what you're feeding the MScaler with, your room, and your individual preference.

I use an MScaler with the Qutest and I like what it brings to the system especially on ripped CDs, I did remove it to see how the ND5XS2/ Qutest sounds but soon reinstated the MScaler.

ND5XS2 feeds the MScaler.

Has anybody had a Chord MScaler and then sold it because they were not that impressed?

I am seriously considering selling the MScaler and using the funds to upgrade my speakers!

Has anyone else got rid of their MScaler or considered doing so? There does seem to be a steady flow (albeit in small numbers) of second hand Mscalers up for sale.....
If it’s not doing the business for you move it on and reallocate the funds, I’ve had similar experiences, the reviews, posts and general consensus is that X is fantastic only to sit there wondering what the fuss is about.

What are you feeding it -CD/SACD/Rips/Streaming?