advertisement

Amp Building for a novice

andy831

pfm Member
My new loudspeakers have arrived and it seems very likely that I am going to need a much more powerful Valve amp than I presently use.

I am not "gifted" practically, in fact I am a complete novice when it comes to the soldering iron. I can however read plans and therefore assume I could read a circuit diagram.

Having looked inside several point to point wired set amps with no circuit boards, the internal Architecture does seem very simple, or am I over simplifying what i think I can see???

I am therefore considering maybe building an 845 Architecture Set amp to maybe give me 50watts plus per channel.

If I was to attempt this, I assume I would be better off with a "Kit" of some kind. Can anybody suggest a suitable manufacturer so I can start to browse.

Being a complete novice if you think this is a bad idea then please say so, as I would hate to buy, make a start and find it completely beyond my capability to complete the project.

Valve amps are a great way to start, since there's generally plenty of space inside and the parts are physically and electrically robust.

My only comment is that I'd seriously consider notstarting with an 845-based amp though - these run 800-1000v on HT supplies, just too damn dangerous for novice stuff IMO. I've built quite a few bits of kit one way or another and still wouldnt go there...

My only comment is that I'd seriously consider notstarting with an 845-based amp though - these run 800-1000v on HT supplies, just too damn dangerous for novice stuff IMO. I've built quite a few bits of kit one way or another and still wouldnt go there...

Lol, if Martin wouldn't go there then I'd certainly advise you not to!!!