advertisement

Apple unethical...

The following is slightly tongue in cheek (although only slightly):

I'm an experienced unix/linux system administrator with decades of experience, but there is no way I'd recommend Linux as a general purpose PC operating system although I can understand some cheapskate enthusiasts being willing to use it when it is appropriate for their own (no doubt very limited) use case (even if that is only to crow about how they are independent thinkers and therefore better than the rest of us in some undefined way)... ;)

I've used the Apple OS and really just don't like it at all, although again I can see how some might still prefer it to Windows 3.1 - which was perhaps the last version of Windows that wasn't comprehensively superior to the Mac OS of the same period (and still seems to be what Mac fanboys seem to compare against).

Also on my desk at the moment I have a pretty modern iPhone (an 11) as well as a good modern Android phone - and can't for the life of me see how anyone can think the very clunky iPhone operating system is superior to Android (especially as the iPhone costs about double what the Android phone did, despite the latter having much, much, much better hardware). Some do though.

I've never really been a fan of Apple computers although at one time I did think their phones were better than everything else available (well, as handheld computers - the phone side has never been that great) but I think they've been comprehensively over-taken now in pretty much every area of their business - other than in engendering fanboy loyalty of course.
^ Everything to everyman reply?

Because, as a PC operating system, it's pretty shite.

How does the general public/user benefit from Linux over a Mac, talking computer based.

OS on a Mac is a wonderful operating system for someone who dosent want 'more' than an OS.

Does Linux run on phones as well?

I now seriously doubt your stated credentials. Let's call that 'my problem'.