advertisement

AVI DM10 - Active System

With new investors apparently taking a hand in the company, the marketing approach may possibly change for the better................or not.
And the source of the information about new investors? And might news about new investors give the punters more confidence and help shift the stock in the shed of a company that is running down? Of course I have no knowledge and little interest in what is going on internally at AVI but this type of thinking would seem to be part of the cost in opting for an "audiophile cable" marketing approach and becoming an unreliable source of information.

Regardless, I'm quite tempted to buy a pair of these DM10's, even though they're unseen and unheard by me as yet.
Then again, should I fork out the extra for the Dynaudio Focus 200XD's ???
That will depend on how you value things. My thinking as someone without money to burn would be that the sound quality from a small 2 way is going to be limited and so paying thousands of pounds for a pair does not make much sense. I would possibly look at the KEF X300A, a pair of Sonos Play 5s,... (I know little about these systems) around the £500 - £800 mark. If the AVI was effectively perfect in being from a reliable company, had approaching the best sound quality than can be extracted from a small 2 way, supported all common digital sources including a slot for a CD and looked attractive then I might be persuaded to double the budget.

And the source of the information about new investors?
Quote from the (choose) guru/satan himself, on the WHF thread.....
"For the record I'm seventy now and semi retired, so not involved in the day to day running of the company, which has new investors and new agents around the world.

Seventy year old, semi retired director of AVI
"