advertisement

Linn Isobariks - replacing the mid and bass drivers with Falcon units

nostromo

pfm Member
I've been running active Linn Isobariks for about 20 years now. I really loved my Linn Kan MK2's before that, for about the same period. I've had several other speakers when I was much younger including Sara's, Kef 104Mk2 and Mk1s (these were my first). I use a Linn Aktiv +Dirak crossover (which I've rebuilt to replace the glichy xlr connectors, damaging the PCB in the process, I managed to recover from that crisis with some great support from PFM members here) 6 x LK280 power amplifiers (recapped by myself with Mundorfs and Elnas, one runs hot and David Elwood of this parish suggested it was a 'tant' but I don't know what that is...it's working and I have several spares (long story won't go there now) and a Holo Audio Spring 2 KTE Dac with an internal preamp and a nice remote. I sold my LP12 with the Kans, Karik, Genki and Kairn about 20 years ago along with about 500 LPs. That was a big mistake in hindsight, it was a rash decision (seriously/embarrassingly cheaply), the kids were being a handful and money was tight and I thought the future was digital (bought MDAC believe it or not and the JW saga began).

A good friend is also an active Isobarik enthusiast and has a lot more money than me ( Klimax LP12, Akurate amps nuff said). His room is bigger than mine and his setup is very different. He's got Morel tweeters and Scanspeak mids and Falcon B139s. It's the Falcon B139s that really interested me as to my ears in his setup the new Falcon B139s sounded a little tighter and more dynamic than my 40+ year old Linn B139s.