advertisement

Decent record cleaning brush?

The brush that came with my Pro-Ject RCM is starting to fall apart. Can anyone recommend a replacement that won't fall apart please?

Also... it dries into a stiff clump and only really gets brushlike again when it's loaded with fluid after a few spins. Is this why it's falling apart and is there something I should be doing differently? Should I be cleaning it?

Should I be cleaning it? Yes
Buy 2 Brushes
1 x Wash with fluid & 1 x Rinse with Distilled water " Belt & Braces "

Everything falls apart: LINK
A silly reply! That’s not typically porcine 🧐

Not the same thing as Pauls brush with which I have no experience, but the centre is holding here with the anti-static carbon fibre brush I’ve used for more than 30 years. I think it’ll see me out.

Not the same thing as Pauls brush with which I have no experience, but the centre is holding here with the anti-static carbon fibre brush I’ve used for more than 30 years. I think it’ll see me out.
My bad. I should have said brush for use with a RCM in the thread title!

When I had a Pro-Ject VC-S (now use a HumminGuru) their supplied wood bodied brush started to show signs of mould and also moulted, so changed to using a pair of Tonar Wet Goat brushes. The Tonars were pretty cheap and very good, with the plastic bodies ensuring they didn't moult.
I later changed to using large Badger hair shaving brushes which were absolutely brilliant for the job.
As to Stiff brushes, I always pre-wet the brushes with either wash or rinse medium before use.

It’s ridiculously expensive for what it is, but I haven’t found a brush better suited to wet record cleaning than the rubber MoFi brush…..

I have a Hunt EDA brush (which a few people think is the best of it's type), which is probably over 30 years old and still going strong. Unfortunately, they have been unobtanium for years, but this looks identical or similar and worth a punt for the money.

Edit: ooops, ignore me, I missed the RCM bit!