advertisement

MDAC first listen (part V)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Lo Phil. How might I run msconfig? Is it hard for us computer cabbage people?

from windows start up icon on bottom left of tool bar theres a prompt to search for program files , in this type msconfig , and away you go. Click on startup tab and it will highlight all processes which get kicked off when you switch on laptop.

I have a constant battle with my 7 yr old boy who manages to use his mothers password to download allsorts, so every know and again I remove them. :0 Not one to stunt a young ones enthusiasm .. but.

Also right click for task manager and check out CPU heavy processes. Before you remove or stop them from startinf, what I do is google the process name to understand what it is ... as you don't want to stop windows.

BTW I'm no expert either ... so make sure you backup or make a restore point prior.

Spoke too soon, it's popping, clipping and spluttering all of over the place. Unlistenable. I tried the rDac to prove it wasn't hardware related. Set it up the same way I set up the MDAC. And that too splutters just as often.

So it's not the hardware, and it's not the audio output method. So does that put it down either USB traffic or laptop performance? I downloaded a little app to tell me what my USB ports are doing. There is only one usb cable in my laptop and that is the one that goes to the dac, and that has been the case since I started this method. When I look at the list of USB devices there are 39 so I removed all but the printer. I've also been through and removed software which I don't need/recognize.

I've just been playing around with a few different things, one thing I noticed with the USB software, when I plugged either dac into the left terminal it seemed to install two versions of the same device. I've changed over to one of the 2 usbs on the right and after 2 songs it hasn't spluttered.

What did you settle on, wasapi or asio4all ?

Buffer length ?