advertisement

Younger people and the BBC

Martyn Miles

pfm Member
I have just been listening to ‘Feedback’ on Radio 4 and a discussion on how the BBC makes itself relevant to younger listeners/viewers, without alienating the older demographic.
I may be wrong, but I understand that many youngsters don’t watch live TV.
You Tube is popular with them.
As for radio, I don’t know if they listen to Radio 1.
The BBC thinking, it appears, is that as people age they will change listening and watching habits.
I moved from Radio 1 & 2 to Radio 3 & 4.
As for TV, I watch live TV and programmes recorded on a hard disc recorder.
I have no interest in paying for Sky, Netflix, etc.

As I get older I'm getting more and more isolated from current events.

I don't watch any TV, live or pre recorded. I have an Amazon Prime subscription and if the mood takes me I'll occasionally watch something on the laptop.

I listen to hardly any radio, it's usually my offline Tidal library whilst driving all day interspersed with the odd bit of 6 Music but that's it. If I want something on in the background at home I'll usually put radio paradise on.

Same goes for sport, I used to follow Football, WRC, Cricket and F1, I now couldn't tell you much about any of them aside from Lewis Hamilton being world champ again.

The older I get the less interested I get.

My listening has changed from when I was young - then it was mostly the Home service and the Third Programme, now it`s R4 and R3 - assuming there`s no cricket.

I don`t watch much TV - as the number of channels has increased there seems to be less and less on that`s worth the trouble.

When there is nothing of interest on the radio I tend to listen to classical internet stations.

We mainly use get-iplayer to fetch radio/TV files from the BBC. Then watch/listen as and when we fancy. Tilt towards R3/4 and BBC4/2 documentaries.