advertisement

Why boomers hate pop!

Tony L

Administrator

Rick Beato is on the case!

Oh noes!

FWIW I don’t actually agree with many of his points. I’m just on the borderline between ‘boomer’ and ‘gen X’; I was a school kid through glam and punk (all boomer music, obviously), but old enough to get to new-wave and synth-wave type gigs at the start of the ‘80s and I started playing that sort of music myself. As such I’m totally at home with drum machines, synths, sequencing etc, in fact one of the first instruments I ever bought was a drum machine (a Boss DR55 that I wish I still had!). I just loved Kraftwerk, Tangerine Dream, Donna Summer, Human League, OMD, Throbbing Gristle, Foetus etc along with some of the early wave of rap such as Grandmaster Flash etc, and whilst I spent much of the ‘80s in the indie scene I jumped ship to techno, IDM etc, which seemed to link-in with a lot of leftfield minimalism and avant garde stuff I also liked. As such I really have no issue with drum machines, repetitive beats, loops etc. They have always been a part of a lot of music I love.

Sure, I don’t like the stuff in the first video much at all, but I don’t like pop music as a whole, e.g. I find the Supremes, Ronnettes, Gerry & The Pacemakers, Freddy & The Dreamers or whatever just as tedious. It just isn’t me. Sure some great music (Hendrix, Bowie, Talking Heads, The Orb, even Dave Brubeck) used to get into the “pop charts” when it was a catch-all for all ‘non-classical’ genres, but it just isn’t anymore and I think Rick misses that all important point. All the stuff that doesn’t sound like the stuff he cites (and is actually quite kind to) exists in its own district ecosystem be it indie, grime, metal, jazz, IDM or wherever. The democratisation of music via the internet has totally changed the marketplace, and for the better IMHO.

I've seen a few of his "Best of all time videos" so this comes as no surprise. My son recommended him to me for his videos on music theory.