advertisement

What goes around, comes around

Stunsworth

pfm Member
30 years ago I had a Quad 44/405. Sold it later when I went Audio Research/EAR.

Today I've just bought a 405 to power the office system on eBay. They'll be driving a pair of Monitor Audio MA4s.

I think this is the hifi equivalent of a grown up buying Dinky toys <grin>

Opps, if Tony wants to move this to the 'classic' forum I have no objections.

I'm thinking of looking for a pair of Monitor Audio 252's to have a play with - my first ever 'real' speakers - pure nostalgia !

I find I remember past systems/components more favourably than the odd occasion I revisit them.

Best system in my distant memory was maggies , fed by an Ariston Rd11e TT and using some monster TEAC pre (pa7) and amps (ma7) (they made good stuff in that era).. heard a similar system a few years ago and was somewhat disappointed and underwhelmed ..however when I did own that system , I was a student at varsity and was most often under the influence of the "holy herb" which might have affected things.....

A friend of mine once said after reading the tagline "The closest approach to the original sound"

"I wouldn't like to sit in front of the original sound after hearing that"

Which is all the odder as whenever I play people a full Quad system into ELS63s they comment on how it sounds nothing like the detractors would have them believe.
Most go on to buy some Quad for themselves.

Which is all the odder as whenever I play people a full Quad system into ELS63s they comment on how it sounds nothing like the detractors would have them believe.
Most go on to buy some Quad for themselves.

That's exactly what I did after I last came to visit you, Rob! :)

I'm thinking of looking for a pair of Monitor Audio 252's to have a play with - my first ever 'real' speakers - pure nostalgia !

This might not matter, but I get the impression that the model one up in the range. The R352 was a much better speaker.

Simon

Hi Les -