advertisement

The Coffee Thread

matthewr

spɹɐʍʞɔɐq spɹoɔǝɹ ɹnoʎ sʎɐld
We might as well have a standing thread for coffee as it seems to be another of the key topics on which middle-aged men enjoy presenting their opinions as facts and can bore for England :)

And what better way to start than with this fascinating video from James Hoffman on Yememia and cofee in Yemen.

Yemeni coffee is my favourite for roasting. Hard to get hold of but delicious.

I watched that video earlier, and yes adulteration is an issue. I trust my supplier is supplying unadulterated green beans. Certainly over the years of me buying the batches have been reasonably consistent.

Yemen, Ethiopia and Burundi are my favourites for coffees as well. Such variety and never a dull moment even if I don't really get on with the super funky ones.

I have a Square Mile subscription which gets you access to the stuff they buy in small volume, so hopefully some of this Yemenia will turn up soon.

I really like Ethiopian harrar when it's good, and Sumatran mandehling when it's good. Both are pretty hit and miss though, especially Indonesian coffee.

Right now I've got a Kenyan blue mountain which is really nice. I don't know if they brought seeds back from Jamaica or what, but it's very tasty stuff.

Sumatran Mandehling is my go-to; can find beans, roasted to my taste via a v local supplier, mercifully.

I spent >2yrs on N. Borneo, and while it might not hit the current instagram- ideal of what 'Western-w/ank' coffee can be - the plain, black unsweetened 'Kopi-o'; that slightly thick, no-crema, shortish & tasty but non -acidic thing you can find anywhere after 6am in Sarawak/Brunei/Sabah ..is what I want, >> a decade later; and still enjoy.

I have to make my own. that's ok, goes with my practicing the perfect Roti kosong...

Just bought some of this:
0-D5-F79-B0-1979-4401-AD47-9055-CB61-D533.jpg

Yes, yes, I know, I know.........be alright for me though, the classy person I am :D