advertisement

Speaker wood Q..

The Captain

~~~~~~~~~~
Hi- Im after some info on real wood vennering ..or some decent vinyl woody like stuff for my old Heybrooks..anyone know if its poss to buy? Also if I were to ideally get some thin wood ie .8mm or such like will it alter the sound? any help welcome cheers capt.

Go to your nearest wood yard and ask them where to get the veneer. The Vinyl you could try a diy shop, if not have a search on the web. Jim.

Hi, i'm no expert, but I just veneered my IPL s3 speaker kit using iron-on mahogany veneer that IPL also sell. It was easy to do, just cut it slightly oversize, iron it on using a normal clothes iron, and press it down using a piece of wood or similar while the adhesive cools. Takes a few seconds. Trim the edges with a craft knife, then sand 'em smooth. For finishing I used 3 coats of danish oil and a polish with beeswax.
http://www.iplacoustics.co.uk/cabinet_accessories.htm

My digital camera is playing up at the moment, i'll try and take a picture or two tomorrow, but I am pleased with the result, I think they look great ( but I would say that, they are my babies) =)

edit:
here is a pic..i hope

my.php

Apologies for the quality, and the camera flash makes them look lighter coloured than in natural light.

Very small image, but they look terrific- is that pine finish? I presume you stuck them onto bare mdf..Im a little uncertain applying to plastic venner finish that I simply cant fathom to remove first. Cheers for info tho Im off to order some now.

Thanks=)
Not pine, mahogany... they really are darker in natural light. Clicking on the picture should enlarge it to 1152x864 pixels
Yup, the veneer is glued onto bare mdf. The sides came pre-veneered, I did the front and back panels.
I dont know the best way to remove the plastic (vinyl wrap?), but I think you will need to, I can't see the veneer sticking to plastic very well.