advertisement

Requiem - recomendations please

Unregistered

pfm Member
As per the title. My partner loves this piece, so I'd like to get her a decent version, for Xmas. I'd love a version that's stunningly well recorded...but perfomance has to take precedence. Which one would you recomend and why?

Cheers,
Rich

There are dozens of Requiems, I assume it's the Mozart one. I always recommend the Herreweghe version, because it's simply the best I've ever heard and on top of that it sounds brilliant, if a little bright though ('80s recording).

There are dozens of Requiems, I assume it's the Mozart one.
Ah...yes!

Herreweghe, any chance of a link. 'Classical' novice here...as if you hadn't guessed. I've found this one, but is it your 80's recording re-released in 2006, or the same fella with a new recording?

Cheers,
Rich

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
I think Mackerras's version with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra is pretty hard to beat.

However, my favourite Requiem is Verdi's and you could do a lot worse than look up one of Giulini's live BBC recordings of the work.

regards, Tam

Herreweghe, any chance of a link. 'Classical' novice here...as if you hadn't guessed. I've found this one, but is it your 80's recording re-released in 2006, or the same fella with a new recording?
I dunno, it looks like he recorded a new version of the work. I think you can go for the newer version, recently I bought his recent Bach St-Matthew Passion and I preferred it to his first version of 1984 (also soundwise).