advertisement

Power amp for chord hugo

owl

pfm Member
I'm putting together a system from scratch. Speakers are likely to be shahinian compasses (can't afford obs), and a chord hugo as the front end (I'm a Qobuz convert!). I will use the pre amp section of the hugo as I don't use other sources. I'm not sure what power amp to use, I will probably do it in 2 stages, getting a reasonable power amp now and then upgrading when funds allow.

I'm a tech novice - could I use the hugo directly into a naim nap140? I can't afford a chord amp or a dynavector for the moment. I do
Like the nap 140 (remember one from 20 yrs back!).

Advice will be really appreciated!

This is a great strategy- the Hugo doesn't need a pre, which would only veil it anyway in the majority of cases. I've run it direct into both valve and solid state power amps ( though not naim) and it sounds fantastic.

Thanks - were you using your Weiss dac directly into the Avondale power amp?

Do all naim power amps need to be used with their pre amps?

Yes, I was using it direct, the Weiss arguably makes a better preamp though as it has variable outputs.

It's a case of trying it to be honest as some prefer with a pre-amp.

Naim power amps are entirely happy being driven by any low output impedance source, and the Hugo will certainly fit that bill.

The myth that a Naim pre is required is exactly that - a myth!

A Naim 140 though, is never going to be able to drive compasses very convincingly.

A variant of an exposure IV might be a good low budget option.

Thanks are the compasses tricky to drive? I know the obs are, but thought the compasses more straightforward?

Thanks are the compasses tricky to drive? I know the obs are, but thought the compasses more straightforward?
A 140 will drive them but will be working its little socks off.
If its a old one in need of a service? You won't be doing yourself any favours.