advertisement

Pioneer PLC-590 Turntable meets Mico Seiki MA-505

337alant

Negatively Biased
Ive been running a Pioneer PLC-590 with and SME 3009mk2 for a couple of years now and have been happy with it, however there always room for improvement and I always thought the SME 3009 although looks the part was a bit limited at the frequency extreams
I recently purchased a Micro Seiki MA-505 from Ebay another classic Jap Tone arm and a quality construction
I hasd to Knock up a new arm board out of 6mm aluminium plate
IMG_1808 by Alan Towell, on Flickr
Great looking arm
20180607_220738 by Alan Towell, on Flickr
Had to fit some extra stainless steel washers superglued together and 3 pieces of copper wire to decouple them from the arm.
Love the arm heat adjustment and locking clamp, also has a nice adjustment on the tracking force anti skating and azimuth
20180607_220707 by Alan Towell, on Flickr
Fitted the denon 103R and its sounding superb, I am really pleased with it much better across the frequency range than the SME which was good in the mids but no so great at the bass and treble
The MA505 sounds transparent and solid as a rock, great treble detail and good bass, mids are as good as the SME 3009
Overall Im buzziing great arm and bargain price for sound quality
20180607_220656 by Alan Towell, on Flickr
20180607_220738 by Alan Towell, on Flickr
Alan

it is but then im biased! :D
good work alan!

IMG_2144.jpg

Cool. I owned a 590 back in the day. 1977/78 I'd guess. In truth it's very pretty, but not in the top class, but if the price was right... looks in fantastic condition.

The MA505 on the other hand is a thing of great joy, and, yes, with all but ultra high compliance cartridges it will indeed the wipe the floor with the SME. That'll hold its own up to mental money fitted to just about anything so long as its physical weight's not a problem.

My vinyl replay days are long gone, but a wee pang of jealousy there.