advertisement

Photographing in public spaces

tuga

Legal Alien
I went for a walk this morning to try out a new camera. I don't usually photograph picturesque urban settings but I want to experiment a bit with the metering modes and this nice row of townhouses looked challenging.
I framed the photo, took one shot and this posh old lady comes out of the building grumbling that her home was private property and that I shouldn't be photographing it without asking for permission. Earlier in the day some chap who sat in a bench at the park got all angry because I took a photo and he was in it.
Is Covid isolation driving people mad(er)/angry(er)?
I have been photographing for over 25 years and I've hardly ever had anyone complain let alone tell me off for taking a picture of a façade...

https://www.blpawards.org/competition/photo-rights

https://www.met.police.uk/advice/advice-and-information/ph/photography-advice/

https://www.geppsolicitors.co.uk/site/blog/taking-pictures-without-the-owners-consent

i am always very cautious. If I notice someone pointing a camera in such a way that might include me so that I am identifiable, i will ask them politely not to or will turn myself away. I have been photographing for about 40 years and i have been regularly asked to not photo things.

In a public place you do not need permission to take photos. That does not mean some people might object even if they have no legal right to do so.

In a public place you do not need permission to take photos. That does not mean some people might object even if they have no legal right to do so.

Yes, I know that. I was completely baffled by this lady's claim that I had to ask for her permission to photograph the façade of her home...

I understand and respect if someone asks me not to take their picture and never shove the camera in someone's face. I find Bruce Gilden's approach obnoxious and at times downright offensive.