advertisement

Photo editing software

purplepleaser

pfm Member
Hi

I have a couple of Canon cameras with the supplied DPP software. I am wondering if i need to spend a lot of money on the likes of CS3 or would something like Elements be good enough for general editing/conversions.

I have no experience with these sort of programs. Just looking for a bit of advice.

What do you use and recommend

Thanks

Lee

Hi Lee,

Over the last few months, in my Digital Imaging course at Uni, i've been using Photoshop Elements 4 (old), and Photoshop 7. If you can get hold of a copy, I would go for 7 - you can do all kinds with it if you've got the patience.

Greg

Not sure if this is good advice, but I have elements 5 and also ACDSee 8. I also have an old and slow computer.
Elements takes ages to open and for basic easy stuff I find ACDSee much easier and less intimidating. Maybe I should sit down and try harder with Elements, but for me ACDSee is all I need. I don't do much other than minor tweaking to exposure, contrast, highlights and shadows and a bit of cropping, so if you want more, then maybe try elements - I could happily sell you a copy of elements 3 if you want, but I think you can download ACDSee as a trial, so why not take a look..!

I use CS3, and feel like I need to book a summer course to work out how to use it. So far (9 months) the only bits I have really used are: convert from RAW and adjust exposure etc, resize, Unsharp Mask, conversion to B&W, Curves and Levels. I recently mastered the batch function to convert from RAW to jpeg using standard settings as a default to get the things ready to review.

I believe you can do most or all the above except Curves in "Elements" for a 10th of the price.

Surely I'm not the only person that finds CS2 and 3 simple to use? I'm far from a pro user. but I'm pretty good with photoshop which has all come from just sitting and using it, if I get stuck I use the manual or search google.