advertisement

Photo editing on a Mac on the cheap.

Alex,

What sort of editing do you need to do? Are you working with RAW files, JPG, 8 bit, 16 bit etc etc?

Cesare

RAW and 'Fine' JPG mainly.

BTW, I only intend to do a bit of tweaking - the last thing I want to do is spend hours manipulating images on a computer; I'd much rather shoot better in the first place.

I think you'll have to define 'on the cheap' a little better. The most obvious software for this sort of purpose would be Photoshop Elements, or Aperture/Lightroom. Have you given Aperture a go since there is a demo available?

I've been using Aperture for a couple of years now give or take and it's been a joy, I won't go back to other editing software out of choice. I'd rather be taking pictures.

Cesare

If you are thinking of getting Lightroom go for Aperture - it has pretty good editing capability and still allows one to easily transfer images to PS or other heavier duty editor.

It is also quite a bit cheaper than Lightroom.

I'll trial Aperture with a view to purchase with my teacher's mortarboard on. I had PS Elements for OS9 and wasn't too thrilled.

Derek, is iPhoto '09 a big improvement on '08?

(Actually, Lightroom for teachers is €99 + VAT)

The new picasa software from google is pretty slick it has to be said.

Otherwise photoshop elements would be ideal.

I have been with aperture from the beginning, but to be honest its just to damn slow compared to other offerings. Trying picasa soon proves that. Though to be fair aperture is doing a whole lot more.

I have not seen iPhoto 9 only 8 which I thought was better than I expected. However it's editing capability was not as complete as Apertures (Which is what would expect)