advertisement

Phonocarts that go well with the Ittok LVII

Unfortunately getting a demo of a cartridge is almost impossible these days. I've had to rely on dealer advice, & audio reviews for most of my purchases since CD became king. With regard to the OP, I've enjoyed the Sumiko Blue Point prior to my Linn & Lyra carts. I've wanted to try the giant slayers such as Zu/Denon 103, Shure V15, and AT33 but haven't had the opportunity to. They are the ones that are often recommended, before getting to silly money.

Robert - I think you are right in your description of Linn's earlier cartridge design, and that everything has got 'hotter' as you say. But, I think there is more to what I hear in the Helikon than the treble turned up to '10' and neither being more detailed than the other. Even if you are right, I work as a musician, and there is no treble roll-off in the live acoustic music I play - it's very extended. I miss that sparkle when I listen to my Linn cartridges. I also miss the full, rich, timbre of instruments that the Lyra doesn't get either (at least with my Ittok arm, which may be a limiting factor). Is there a cartridge that does it all?

I have a Lyra Helikon on my Ittok and it is wonderful. Not Shrill or thin in the least either. Actually very musical and natural sounding. I am a Musician as well. As a bass player, among other instruments, I do like to hear the Bass sound right, not thin or bloated and boomy I do use a Audionote step up trans, 2-10 ohm if I recall. One setting does sound about perfect but I don't remember which it is. I suspect it is the 10 ohm . I tried it with several pre phone amps but never liked the results on it or any other cartridge. And the Helikon tracks better than any other cartridge I have ever used too. I don't use the tone arm weight setter. I set the VTF by moving the weight itself and measure with the shure tracking gauge. Also, It has never seemed fussy about antiskate either, I barely use any.