advertisement

Phones with decent cameras at a decent price....

steveinspain

pfm Member
I've been using Xiaomi phones for a few years now, and my current Redmi note 7 is starting to show its age. Review here if you are interested and bored..
https://www.pocket-lint.com/phones/reviews/xiaomi/148258-redmi-note-7-review

So, I've started looking...
Have any of you got any hands -on experience of phones under £300 with vaguely decent cameras ?
I don't do selfie stuff, don't want a million effects unless they can all be turned off, but do want something that for everyday use when out without a (proper) camera produces ok results. A zoom might be useful, as long as it's not digital, and a fairly wide angle would be good too.
Mainly daylight use as I'm too old to go out late, and I'd rather have something smaller than 6.5" screen size but have seen the Xiaomi mi 10 and Xiaomi poco 3 which are both slightly larger at 6.67"
Comparison here -
https://www.gsmarena.com/compare.php3?idPhone1=10415&idPhone2=10183

Otherwise my needs are pretty basic - I rarely watch videos, do want a headphone socket and a decent battery.
Any suggestions ?
Thanks if you do !

I'm no phone expert and I'm totally unfamiliar with Xiaomi tbh, but the Huawei P30 camera is pretty good. Only thing is that on default settings sometimes the colours seem slightly oversaturated, compared to an iphone say. I think it's very good with b&w white though.

It's well put together and ticks the other boxes, and has generous memory and expansion options.

I'm no phone expert and I'm totally unfamiliar with Xiaomi tbh, but the Huawei P30 camera is pretty good. Only thing is that on default settings sometimes the colours seem slightly oversaturated, compared to an iphone say. I think it's very good with b&w white though.

It's well put together and ticks the other boxes, and has generous memory and expansion options.
Thanks for that - I'd heard it mentioned as having a good camera - I'll start a list to look into.