advertisement

older active meridian surround system -buy or run for the exits ?

audiopile

pfm Member
Decades ago I heard one of the first Meridian active speaker set ups (actually -probably the first model they made -whatever that was) at the Consumer Electronics Show. It left a vivid impression. So there's a five channel old surround system for sale - it's got unidentified "issues" ??? I'm a former stereo tech (a couple of decades back in time) -any body had any luck restoring older Meridian active systems ? I don't have either use or space for five large speakers in my listening space - but if I could use these for old fashioned stereo - that would interest me. Don't know models or existing service problems - but let's assume these are 20 years old -how supportive is Meridian about products this far back into their ancient history ? parts? service manuals ? software downloads ?

The Meridian Unplugged forum will give you all the advice you need but the model and version is critical. I have DSP5500s which are close to 2 decades old. I opened them up and they are absolutely immaculate. However I think support from Meridian has stopped long ago and the people available to fix them are thin on the ground. So do your research first or you will have some very heavy, ugly wooden coffins to dispose of.

The older stuff is probably more serviceable for being through hole construction.

It comes down to price and enthusiasm for the sound.

I like meridian equipment and would probably investigate further.

Do it. Frankly the only thing likely to stop a system like this in its tracks is unavailability of software if a programmable chip dies, but that’s so rare as to be almost unheard of.