advertisement

New Turntable Purchase in the last 10 years...

If you purchased a new turntable in the last 10 years what was its retail price:

• <£500

Votes: 5 4.4%
  • <£1000

Votes: 12 10.5%
  • <£3000

Votes: 45 39.5%
  • <£5000

Votes: 26 22.8%
  • <£10000

Votes: 13 11.4%
  • <£20000

Votes: 8 7.0%
  • <£30000

Votes: 1 0.9%
  • above £30000

Votes: 4 3.5%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

GT

pfm Member
If you purchased a turntable in the last 10 years could you please mark the box most relevant above?
This is in regard to new turntable purchases, not used ones. Thanks

P.S. the scale used > = up to £xxxx, not greater than £xxxx

Last edited:
As a ex-computer programmer I was sufficiently triggered and have flipped the symbols. Makes sense to me now (< less than, > greater than).

PS I actually did buy a new turntable a few years ago (an SL1200G) so I can actually join in! I didn’t keep it though. I’d also argue restored classics have a high value, the boutique refurbishers certainly charge £4k and upwards for TD-124s in arguably less well sorted condition than mine. I’ve just ticked for the 1200G though.

<£10K for a new NA Dais and a new Brinkmann 10.0 tonearm (rrp would be £7,600 approx) if I add the cartridge, a new Hana ML that's another £1K, (I haven't added the value of my old Hadcock & Shure combo)
Should the price on the phonostage be considered as well as it generally requires one to make an analogue front end?

You seem to forget the high end turntable market pretty much finished years ago. I would say around 2010 when most people interested in analogue had already bought their last turntable. There has been sales in the budget area and some mid fi turntables sold since to 40-50 year olds, but not a lot else...

?