advertisement

New speakers for yairf - the loooong way...

yairf

Trade: Teddy Pardo Audio
Hi pinkfishers
Haven't visited this place for a long while.
This is just a summary of my long journey into a new DIY front, one which is probably never going to end: I have discovered the potential of "activating" speakers (i.e. going active...), and decided to take on this concept from a different, rather unusual angle.

It all started a couple of years ago when I have done a project for a friend, modifying his 32.5 / 140 (see a "brief" summary here).
After some additional minor works, such as adding a remote control to the 32.5, I went further, adding another 140 (equally modded), and replacing the passive xover of his SBL with an active one.
Both of us just couldn't believe the difference - it was huge!

I then decided to take on a new journey myself, and decided to go for a "hyperactive" speaker of my own. I am not a speaker designer and I know little about this subject, so I went off the beaten road of complex xover design, and took my chances with this little gadget from down under. This device acts as an ADC, DAC, preamp, active xover and room correction in one box, using proprietary DSP algorithms.

The DEQX unit allows its user to fine tune every single parameter in the system behaviour, including gain, frequency response, phase characteristics, even group delay (!), all with a user-friendly GUI software, running on a PC. The filtering is done by a DSP inside. The DEQX includes microphone for speaker and room measurements.