advertisement

New Rug, New Sound

OK so I've just been to pick up the heaviest rug i have ever come across. Its 3.63m x 2.72m and I'd say weight is 60-70Kg, hand made Indian, pure virgin wool.
It's about 40 years old and in remarkable condition for its age. I may need @Rug Doc opinion on having it pro cleaned as its been in storage for a couple of decades apparently.

Anyhow here's a pic of my latest system upgrade... And wow this rug sounds amazing ;), what a difference... loving it, it's really brought the room and system together, man :)

Last edited:
I’d expect a rug of that density to make a difference to the sound in the room, glad it’s for the better... I’m a rug amateur, mine is a £50ish jobbie from B&M :D, I do have carpet and thick underlay to help with sound deadening luckily.

Aha a 1970’s Indian Kashmir by the looks of it?! It might not be made of wool, but mercerised cotton (which weighs an absolute ton!) does it have labels verifying your description? Just interested. :)

Cleaning can be exp, but where are you? Get it to me in GU10 and pay for return to you and I’ll sort it for you for my cost which is about £150.

Aha a 1970’s Indian Kashmir by the looks of it?! It might not be made of wool, but mercerised cotton (which weighs an absolute ton!) does it have labels verifying your description? Just interested. :)

Cleaning can be exp, but where are you? Get it to me in GU10 and pay for return to you and I’ll sort it for you for my cost which is about £150.

I think you're probably spot on! I know nothing about rugs... you're the doc doc. These are the two labels underside it:

Getting it home from Windsor/Bracknell in the back of a Mini Cooper S wasn't much fun... But if its the only way to get it properly sorted then thanks for the offer, much appreciated. What's the process of actually cleaning such a big heavy rug?

Last edited:
Mmm looking at the back it looks like wool. So it’s just a thick, very heavy bugger!