advertisement

Naim to valve/Yamaha NS1000m – help needed

davidismynaim

pfm Member
I have made the decision it is time to move on.

I have had a pair of Yamaha NS1000M refurbished, now looking resplendent in lovely oak veneer.

I am thinking about going to valve amplification. I have only ever owned SS, so am a complete novice with valves, so would welcome some help.

There are two amps I have my eye on and would really value some thoughts on these two units or any other you think I should consider second hand in the £1000-£1200 region.

My front-end is Michell Gyrodec (have not worked out phono stage, but would probably go with a simple unit like Cambridge Audio 540P and a passive preamp (until John Westlake has his MPAX available) and SB Touch/Audiolab MDAC for all my digital music.

Thoughts on Audio Innovation 1000 mkIII Monoblocks (they use EL34 but there is talk of using Sovtek 5881/6L6GC WXT for better reliability?)

And views on Audion 300b Silver Night monoblocks with gold grids - I think these are in push pull mode.

Thanks in advance…

I made a similar move away from Naim about 12 months ago to a Leben CS-600.

Nothing pipe and slippers about this amp with the KT-120s that are currently in it.

Transparency, power, delicacy and an easy naturalness that is nothing like I've ever heard from Naim.

[52,super, 250, SBls]

Make yure you try the amp on your Yams before buying. The NS1000 really wants some clean ss power in my (limited) experience.

Make yure you try the amp on your Yams before buying. The NS1000 really wants some clean ss power in my (limited) experience.

I might be able to try the AI 1000's. I thought valve amps were highly recommended with the NS1000M? the 300b I think are about 30W and the AI 50W from memory

By whom? There's a number of NS1000 users on pfm, I think they all use transistor power amps.

QUOTE]