advertisement

Linn Spark Recap.... Is it worth it?

car973

As a complete novice I would welcome some advice and opinion about recapping a Linn Spark. The last time I did anything like this was replacing a tiny cap inside my Numerik which is still going well (and all thanks to PFM stalwarts).

Until this week my LK280s+Sparks had been untouched since 1989 so they were/are well overdue for some attention. Bought a job lot of three 10 years ago for small money and one of them hasn't been used for ages so it was the ideal start point. I did of course check that it was fully discharged!

I have now recapped one of the LK280 amps replacing all electrolytics with like-for-like (apart from size - simply not available). To my surprise and relief, it still works! In fact it's a huge improvement in overall sound quality and encouraged by this I am now looking at the Spark. Has anyone done one of these?

Inside there are 8 main caps (ALP22A103DD063) each with five pins fitted to a single board. Replacement availability? None that I can find. The datasheet shows only one positive and one negative pin so if I'm not mistaken the other three pins are purely for support. I could therefore modify the board for a two pin fixing and use glue or strong double-sided tape to support. Does that work?

First ask is, should I bother? Will replacing the caps make an audible difference? The datasheet suggests these are 26,000 hour caps and this particular Spark hasn't been used for ten years. The others have been on 24/7 although the electric bill suggests it's no longer a good idea!

Recapping the amp's caps has given a much fuller sound particularly the bass and top end. It has gone from 'pipe n slippers' to a breath of fresh air and I now realise I should have done this a long time ago.

Also, are there any safely or risk of damage considerations for Spark replacements to be an imperative? The caps all look to be in good condition.

If anyone has recapped a Spark, is it worth it?