advertisement

Linn LP12 vs Digital

I’m seeking advise on LP12/turntable upgrade. I’m new to analog (and to this forum). Linn LP12 is my first turntable. It’s a brand new Majik with the new Kore and Lingo 4 upgrade. It has the new Karousel bearing, Krane arm, adikt cart.

I’ve a DIY music server which would compete with USD $10K commercial offering. My DAC is Holo Spring2 - a $2.2K mid level. I’m quite skilled with building music server and spent a lot of time improving it. I was very happy with the sound of my digital chain.

However, the new LP12 right out of the box sounded better than my digital on 70% of the music. I was floored! I started buying vinyl like a mad man.

The story takes a dramatic turn when I borrowed a Lampizator TRP DAC from a friend. With Lampi, my digital starting to sound quite a bit better than my LP12.

The areas where I think LP12 is equal (or sometimes little better ) than my digital is:

- Macro dynamics

- Detail

- Bass

- voice reproduction

But other areas where the digital with Lampi sounds quite a bit better than LP12:

- Transparency (I can hear deeper into the recording)

- Much more open midrange

- Airy and silky highs

- Better micro dynamics (LP12 sounds a bit flat in comparison on busy music)

- More agile and lighter on its feet (while never sounding thin or harsh)

I am willing to spend money on LP12 upgrades. But is it possible that LP12 (or suspended turntable for that matter) will never sound that open, uncolored, agile, and airy? I think my LP12 sounds very organic and musical. But the midrange thickness is pervasive regardless of the recording and its flat sounding on busy music is the biggest issue I want to improve on.

What LP12 upgrade I should aim first so that it can sound open and airy? Is the Radikal + MC cart will get me there? Or Keel+Ekos SE+ MC cart would be enough? I can go all the way up to Klimax if that s what it takes. But it’d be an expensive experiment if it doesn’t work out.