advertisement

How would you describe the sound of the various Avondale amps?

PascalDS

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, and very interested in the various discussions relating to Avondale amps. Coming from a Naim SN3, my "dream plan" was to upgrade to a 252/300 configuration with a CHC PSU. But many of you seem to indicate that Avondale produce brilliant gear as well, well worth listening to as an alternative.

Do any of you know of some sort of resource describing the house sound (House of Avondale, that is ;) ) and also how the various amps in the lineup relate to one another? Or would you care to share your own experience? Most of what I have found so far indicates superb quality but not in descriptive ways that a total newb might be able to interpret. Are we talking about more/less controled bass, more/less airiness, more/less fluidity, more/less refinement, more/less detail, more/less slam, more/less legibility ... ?

How do SE amps fit into the NCC lineup?
How do the various box options (250, 300, 135 ...) affect the sound?

I mostly listen to gentle music, meaning not metal or electro, but not restricted to any genre. Billie Eilish appeals to me as much as Lana del Rey, Frank Sinatra, Mahler, Bach, Miles Davis ...

My current speakers are home-made (don't hate me) CSS Audio 2TDx, which have a brilliant midrange, and a detailed but gentle treble, but too much bass for me. My current plan is to switch to a Graham or Rogers LS5/9 with sub, or LS5/9f. From my little experience with them, they seem to like a lot of current, but are also very revealing of amplifier personality.

That's it ;) It's a lot and I'm not expecting anyone to answer all this, but look forward to any thoughts.

Thank you very much, and you all have a great day,
Pascal