advertisement

Help beginner with CMOY amp kit, please!

Johnny Blue

I made it to 'Member'!
Sorry to burden you chaps, with your £70 soldering stations, who are madly building the next Naim-slayer, but I have an embarrassingly basic question to ask:

I've just bought one of these and, despite requests to the seller for help, I've not got any response from him.

I recognise most of the components, but am not sure what certain of the items are. If you look at this photo, there are some things about which I'm not clear (circled in red). I've deduced by their number that the 3 tiny rectangular items must be the 'green=jumpers' (see circuit diagram) but I'm not sure what they're for: why can't I just use a bit of wire to connect the points on the PCB. And what is the long plastic section, with many pins along it: I presume they are link pins or may be to stick through the PCB, but don't know how or why to use them. Do they fit into the little black connectors (the 'green=jumpers')? Why are there so many of them? Presumably I snap or snip them off to use them?

And there are the wires in the resistor packet (above and to left of the red oval), without resistors on them: are they also for linking? Confused!

(I told you this was embarrassing!)

This site contains affiliate links for which pink fish media may be compensated.
I'm sure it's complete, that isn't my problem, it's just that I don't know what are the little pins and the black 'jumpers'! I don't see what the jumpers do that a piece of wire can't do...

The board probably has more than one application.

The open circuit jumper pins don't really need to be there at all for your purposes, and the closed ones could equally well be replaced with a piece of wire.

The jumper pin strip has been included purely to confuse you and probably only comes into play if you use the kit in some alternative way or as part of a larger kit.