advertisement

Headphone System

sgb1

I have a spare small narrow bedroom 11x7 approx which I intend to convert to a study/music room.
Due to size limitations I am considering using it only as a headphone system based around the Naim Unitiqute 2 (music streaming and internet radio mainly)
What i would like to ask fellow forum members is how good is the Unitiqute via headphone listening or would it be better to buy a standalone headphone amp ?
Just like to add that I am still a novice at this streaming business and still learning.
All opinions would be very much appreciated,
Kind Regards
Bob

Best thing to do is find a Dealer and have a listen. I haven't heard the unit your going to use but in the past a good head amp will out perform an in built socket. More so if the headphones you thinking of using are harder to drive. I have used a rega head in the past and that worked well. Recently borrowed a Graham slee Nova and psu1 that sounded sweet with my sennheiser 580se and some shure Srh1540 I borrowed. If your looking for new headphones try the shures they are excellent.

I've not heard the Unitiqute but had a DAC-V1 used with Sennheiser HD600's. I needed to raise some funds, so sold the V1 and ended up buying a Lehmann Linear and more recently an HRT Music Streamer lll.

This combo is so much better than the Naim, I mean miles better!

Seems like a waste of the Naim to me, unless you were going to also hook up a pair of speakers for occasional use.

The Schiit Vali headphone amp at 100 or so dollars is better than any headphone out I've had in any of my gear. Add an airport express or something like that and you're in for a couple hundred dollars

I would not recommend using a UnitiQute solely as a headphone amp. The SQ is comparable to a Headline powered by a NAPSC. It sounds thin and uninteresting. The headphones that I use are HD650 and HD800. I am sure you can find a much better headphone amp for the money.