advertisement

Ethernet cables and Sound Quality

tinpot

General
There are companies that sell very expensive (copper) Ethernet cables, and people that buy them.

When playing an audio file from a file server (a NAS is a file server), the audio is encoded (be it WAV, M4A, FLAC etc), the file is then packetised into TCP packets, the TCP packets are then encapsulated into Ethernet frames, the Ethernet frames are then sent as a bitstream (with preamble, Start of Frame and CRC) by the Ethernet NIC; presuming there is no switch or router in between, this sequence is then reversed by the "playing" device.

Given above sequence of encoding, packetisation and encapsulation before the bistream which goes over the cable, I am interested in how people think that different Ethernet cables can affect the sound quality.

I am also interested in why none of the high end audio manufactures sell any devices with SFP or SFP+ to allow for fibre connectivity.

As a one-time computer technician, I am totally sure that data gets through the cable 100% bit perfect. If it didn't a lot of software wouldn't work !
HOWEVER I believe that the cable may have an effect on the device at the receiving end that might possibly affect a digital-analogue conversion.
I have to say though that I am quite happy to use decent quality off-the-shelf Cat6 throughout my home network and I certainly wouldn't pay silly money for any digital cable.

Cannot see how something that requires bit perfect data will be bothered by whatever cable it uses.

In one job I had we used to run 1000 feet plus runs of RS232 cables when the tech boys said 100 feet and the signal would drop out, but we never lost a bit of data so I think any old cable would work happily.

I put a system in using Homeplugs through the house mains wiring and it sounds perfect, so no cat cable involved in that, apart from the 13amp Homeplug at the router to the other 13amp Homeplug by the streamer.