advertisement

Do Quad ESL57 still stand up against modern speakers?

Simonms

Hi,

After building my own set up over the last year or so (Well Tempered,Pass Labs (pre/power) into Obelisks I have helped my Dad build a similar system after he liked mine. Now my Sister has requested my help but the budget is not as large so have been wondering about Quad ESL57's (possibly stacked) as she has a large listening space and spotted RHCD's thread which started me ticking over about a project. After waiting a while to listen to a pair today I heard them with Ear 509 Mk2 amps and really liked the sound they made but was unsure of their condition and have not heard a stacked pair so wondered if anyone could comment on the ESL 57's and give an idea if they are still respected in the realms of today's offerings.
I am slowly listening to more and more hifi but am sure many of you are in a better position to comment.
I am a good carpenter so building a stacked pair potentially appeals if I could find some good examples (or even send them to OT for some TLC).

She mostly listens to acoustic music with the odd bit of classical.

Thanks in advance Si.

More 'beat the crap out of' than 'stand up against' IMO. I have heard very, very few speakers at any price that are as good and I could very happily live with a pair. I'd actually buy a pair right now if I could be absolutely certain they were perfectly matched / balanced etc and had a long service life ahead without the need for expensive servicing. I've wanted to own ESL57s since I was about 15 years old!

Tony.

They are very much still respected.

Pro
- Zero "overhang"
- No box colouration
- "transparent" sound - very clear
- Image wonderfully (but see cons also)
- Best mid-range on planet earth? Maybe.

Con
- Frequency range a little limited, more like a stand mount than something that big. HF not a big issue as your ears, recordings and especially vinyl won't get up that far anyway. LF, 40 Hz.