advertisement

DAC preferences

The_Wizard

Hello All,
A newbie here, but been having a nosey around the forum for a while now, my first impressions were that I need to learn a new language, but I guess it all comes with experience.

I see that there is a large thread about the Mdac at the moment, but unfortunately I was lost in the technical aspect of the discussion within the first few posts.

I currently have a Rega brio 2000 and Kef iq3's which I feel are a lovely combo. My source is apple lossless through a CA ID100 dock to a dacmagic. Having slowly upgraded the system I feel the need to move away from the dacmagic. What are you're experiences with other dacs, in particular the mdac and the rega DAC and why do you like them?

Thank you

Good point, Tony. I found myself listening to the majority of my music with linear phase selected at the time of purchase, but more recently have switched to minimum as I felt it gave less of a surround sound feel, that's how I heard it anyway. The dacmagic is currently being repaired by richer sounds which has prompted my thinking into an upgrade.

Good point, Tony. I found myself listening to the majority of my music with linear phase selected at the time of purchase, but more recently have switched to minimum as I felt it gave less of a surround sound feel, that's how I heard it anyway. The dacmagic is currently being repaired by richer sounds which has prompted my thinking into an upgrade.

I upgraded my DACMagic with a Maplins L54BR power supply and some XLR to RCA cables. Perhaps an alternative power supply might improve the sound of your DACMagic. Try those before blowing a small fortune on a DAC which sounds a tiny bit different. I thought both measures helped.

Haven't heard the Ca but I have plenty of time for their other stuff.

I do however use an M-dac. I just play music through it and it's excellent; clear as a vacuum, foot-tapping when the music is and detailed too. £600 is cheap for such a bargain IMO.