advertisement

Comparing caps with scope - have you seen this?

The danger here of course is to assume that the best 'measuring' caps are the best 'sounding' caps. The results confirm my impressions of Black Gates though - I've never liked 'em.

When I studied electronics att university, power supplies where somehow allways considered to be ideal and scetched as a battery...

Has anyone done something like this inside an amplifier circuit?

JohanR

Les - quite right, but I thought it worth sharing that there are observable changes in behaviour due to little things like voltage bias.

Yes, its all down to how the thing actually sounds.
Try measuring the output of a zero oversampled dac, it measures poor but the sound is excellent, certainly better than with oversampling added.
Blackgate NX-Hi-Q caps are actually good if used in the right place with a multilayered ceramic bypass cap on the components legs.

When I see how the caps are tested I wonder what did the tester actually test and what did he want to know?

How much is the cap and how much is the test setup of these results?

Thanks for you all for your comments and links!

Your comments were about what I did expect and can easily agree. Could not understand much of Martin's link however and the photos with the line on scope did not much open to me.
Should we start listening paper/oil caps??

One question I once of twice tried to ask on PFM with no answer was: why tants in the reg boards? Could normal electrolytes work there. Now I have opened my eyes and saw Les is using electrolytes and not tants on his APX boards. Still everybody else (nearly) seem to recommend tants (?). I have not tried out and listened, obviously.

Any comments on this now??

BTW, on the signal coupling, it seems that Naim is still counting on tants in their NAC552 but did you see any RIAA cards in the 552?