advertisement

Classical Ignoramus - some recommendations please.

Joco

pfm Member
Hi,
I'm a near newbie on the subject but would like some advice on some accessible Cello / Piano / Violin works which would be a good introduction into the subject. I am not necessarily asking for solo Instrument LP's just a gateway into the best that these instruments have to offer. Any and all advice is welcome, I realise the above may be a tad vague but hopefully its a starting point.

Thanks,

John

I've copied this post here as it will almost certainly get more recommendations than in the record shop.

Tony.

For violin I would recommend Bach's violin concertos in Am and E and the double concerto: a good accessible starting point, I like Christopher Hogwood's version. Bach's cello suites are worth dipping into but probably less accessible. Beethoven is also king when it comes to cello and piano of course, he wrote numerous solo piano and cello sonatas.

mat

accessible stuff...

piano:
chopin - nocturnes (maurizio pollini)
mozart - piano concertos #20 and #21 (friedrich gulda)
beethoven - piano concertos #4 and #5 (claudio arrau or stephen kovacevich)

violin:
brahms - violin concerto (oistrakh-violin/klemperer-conducting)
mendelssohn - violin concerto (jascha heifetz)

cello:
bach - cello suites (anner bylsma, janos starker or pablo cassals)

vuk.

More serious post - there are two Starker Bach cello suites. Mercury Living Presence recording is very nice - was reminded of this whilst at that upstanding Mr David Ellwood's place this morning when we played some.

Just a brief note to say that with Bach's Cello Suites please try the Rostropovitch. I'd like to hear the Starker myself, but just say no to Cassals. It really isn't a good place to start.