advertisement

CD5 Power Supply

rogerredhat

pfm Member
Trying to decide a routre to go down.

At present a Snaps/TPR powers my CD5,have used a Hicap as well.

Have found the Snaps gives more detail and rhythm,Hicap gives a more forward sound but a bit overblown.

Any views on a TPR4/Ryan Sound Lab in a Hicap/Snaps to a cd5?

My other though is upgrade the cd player and jump this step.

Thanks

Conventional wisdom at the time was that more than a Flatcap2 wasn't really worth the effort with the CD5. That's as far as I ever went with mine. Still have them though not hooked up to the system currently.

If I were in your position I'd be looking at the streaming route rather than upgrading a CD player, but I would certainly be more inclined to upgrade the player than the PSU, particularly since you've already tried a Hicap.

i regret that i have no experience to offer on the TPR4 question, but i'm curious to hear what others have to say on that front.

that said, i think i'd go for a CDX2 if i were in your shoes.

I have a CD5 with (originally) a FlatCap2. Kind of blah sounding. So I designed an upgrade regulator for the FlatCap and "voila" a miracle happened. The CD5 now sounds alive and very enjoyable. Not the CD5's fault. My suggestion may seem a bit self-serving, but you have nothing to lose by trying the RSL Power Supply (which just bypasses the FlatCap upgrade step - the regulator circuitry is identical and the transformers are about the same va rating). There's an RSL Pre/PS combo circulating in the UK now and you can get on the list for a listen in the pretty near future (two people ahead of you right now). it just plugs right into the same SNAIC cable to the CD5. There's also an RSL HiCap mod using the same regulator (but with the original HiCap transformer and caps) if you're a real DIYer. Won't sound quite up to the RSL PS though.