advertisement

burning in and electric lights

philsparks

pfm Member
Recently experienced something that made me muse on the whole burning in discussion.

As an ex electrical engineer I normally hold with the if mantra that if you can't measure it - it's probably imagined. However my Teddy Dac did gradually get better (and I mean REALLY better, noticably better) over a couple of weeks or more.

We had a loft conversion done about 2 years ago and there are 12 little halogen downlighters up there (the little GU10 things).

For the first few months we had bulbs blowing every week or 2. I'm sure I replaced all of the bulbs, and some of them more than once. It was so annoying that I almost got the electrician back to have a look at the circuit.

However , in the following few months the rate of blowing went down. A year later and t's down even more - I guess I've probably only replaced 1 or 2 bulbs in the past year. What's going on?

It could be that by a process of elimination, I've now got a more robust set of bulbs, and weeded out the weaker ones (evolution for lightbulbs?!). However if that was the case - then whenever a bulb did blow, I'd expect to have to replace it once or twice until I found a good one - that's not happening.

I could be that something else has happened - perhaps my electricity voltage has gone down? But if that's the case I'd expect the rate of bulbs blowing elsewhere in the house to have changed - it hasn't.

Given that the loft is a long way from the consumer unit, and the circuit is simple twin and earth wire and a switch I wonder if there is some sort of 'burning in' going on here. I'm sure the circuit wouldn't measure any different, but it is a little 'odd'.

Friday night musings
Phil

Assuming that this isn't a wind up have you measured the voltage?