advertisement

And another lithium battery problem on a 787!

JohnW

pfm member

http://www.flightglobal.com/news/articles/boeing-confirms-new-787-battery-problem-in-tokyo-394831/

http://news.yahoo.com/jal-dreamliner-hit-battery-problem-001418392.html

As an electronics engineer I cannot understand the “bloody mindedness” of Boeing to keep insisting on lithium battery technology. A fire on the ground and you have a good chance to survive - but in the air....

I’ve experience 2 lithium battery overheat incidences and would NEVER consider using them in a safety critical situation. In my opinion, Boeing is taking an almighty risk for a debatable benefit.

Boeings argument is that Lithium cells are lighter then older technology, but since the first 2 battery incidents Boeing has been forced to add extra steel armour (and an external fume venting system) to protect the airframe in case of a Battery cell malfunction – is there still really that much of a weight saving, and if indeed there is still a weight benefit does it justify the risk?

Personally I’d rather pay the extra fuel “penalty” on the ticket price for the increased safety then for what must amount to no more then 20 to 50kg of weight saving… (and again after the extra steel armour has been added is there still really a weight benefit?)…

I think Boeing has just pushed it a little too far… History has now provided 4 known incidents of battery failure with the Boeing 787 in its relatively short lifespan – Why are we taking the risk?

From an outsiders perspective it appears that Boeing is trying to protect its pride - but if they loose a 787 with its passengers?

I hope my fears of a fatal (non cargo related) accident due to Lithium Battery fire never becomes reality – I don’t understand why the regulators allow the risk due to pressure from the aircraft manufacturers… Four fires or overheat events in 1 year… anyone see a pattern?