advertisement

Most impactful LP12 related upgrades

I think what you're describing is the quality of reproduction, not tunefulness. Unless tuneful merely means better reproduced?

If a piece of kit enables me to hear the tunes and harmonies better or more easily, I'll call it more tuneful. The tunes are a big part of what I want reproduced. I'm not a musician, so I probably find it harder to fill in the blanks than you. If a piece of kit messes with the pitch of notes, albeit it in a subtle way, and turntables can certainly do that, it is reproducing the tunes less accurately - it's less tuneful IMO.

I have always found difficult music becomes more coherent on repeated listening but this has nothing to do with the reproducing equipment in my own experience (although I do prefer to listen on good kit than bad, as would anyone). The problem is (speaking as a musician) you will always start to notice new patterns the more you listen. The brain makes connections and recalls passages which become familiar and enjoyed by the listener. This is how great classical music often works: a bit meaningless on first hearing but rewarded by familiarity. In short: the kit you hear second will by definition give a more coherent performance in the context we are discussing. Obviously if the equipment is bad, it will be difficult to discern musical lines. But it would have to be Edison phonograph bad for that to be the norm.
Lol, I thought you could write it down on first hearing.

Are there any alternatives to In-Soles or Mushrooms?
They just look like rubber bungs but presumably the characteristics of the rubber is key.
Just want to experiment on my LP12 without diving too deeply cost wise, as I don't listen to vinyl that much nowadays.

Lol, I thought you could write it down on first hearing.

Or I could write it down; at a single hearing if it's not too long.
is what I said. In my later post I was referring to a piece which might last an hour, be atonal and highly contrapuntal.