advertisement

Technics SL1200g arm height query

…….I don’t like the idea of 2 mats as I feel a single point of interface between platter and disc must be correct from an engineering perspective?…Happy to be shot-down on this as I’m no expert…

Sounddamped steel wotsit, neoprene that comes with it, Auditorium thingy. Works for me.

594-B5-BB2-7-B79-45-A6-BE2-B-B1-AA5-B8-E2-E71.jpg

I don’t like the idea of 2 mats

Its fine as instant solution, in the long run I'd look for the thicker mat.
(Even quicker you might put an old vinyl below your rubber mat)

TBH I have almost forgotten I've got a 2mm cork mat below my SL1200 3mm standard rubber mat.

If you’re Roy Gregory 0.01mm of VTA makes all the difference.
If young Master Gregory had stuck in with his O-levels geometry he could have calculated that the angular difference of change in radians for a 2mm shift down one end of a 230mm line will be 0.48º.

IOW, 0.02º less than half of SFA.

…….I don’t like the idea of 2 mats as I feel a single point of interface between platter and disc must be correct from an engineering perspective?…Happy to be shot-down on this as I’m no expert…

Fair enough.

Not shooting you down at all... but I always imagine that the ideal turntable would allow an LP to rotate in fresh air at precisely 33rpm, perfectly horizontal, with nothing touching it but the stylus - ensuring that only the LP-induced vibrations are transcribed and nothing more.
(Obviously, a fairy-tale...)

This fairy-tale probably explains why many manufacturers successfully incorporate magnetic repulsion and air-bearing technology into their designs.

With all this in mind, I have found that seeking absolute isolation from the platter and bearing and motor, etc. - without losing grip, for torque purposes - has been a useful objective.

Listening quickly reveals the truth of it.

My ears are happy with our BOSTON CARBON MATT stacked upon another synthetic, woven aftermarket sub-mat.