advertisement

Naim: Is it personal?

The Naim 'sound' has changed over the years and, while it might not be to your taste, I doubt anyone resents the brand because of it.

Not sure about that, though I don't think 'resents' is the right word.

I think the combination of the distinctive (unnatural?) sound signature and the historical baggage associated with the brand have led to a 'dislike', rather than a resentment.

It is what it is, I don't see the point in getting upset about it. I don't think I've ever experienced Quad fans getting agitated when the 'pipe and slippers' meme gets trotted out.

Good Morning All,

As somebody who has, very fully, been down the Naim 'rabbit hole' and come out the other side my simple thoughts are as follows. I did get to 10 Naim boxes i.e NAC52 + SC, SNAXO 3-6 + SC, 4 x NAP250 and 2 x NAP135 having started off over 30yrs ago with a simple pre-amp/ power amp combo I feel I have some direct experience (like many others on here).

I am now completely Naim free and don't miss it at all.

I'm finding the SE amplification I'm now experiencing simply provides me with a better audio experience.

Whether the newer Naim equipment would be sonically better than the CB/ olive stuff I had I don't know and I'm not sure I could afford to find out.

Regards

Richard